LA Zoo/New Beginnings
Monday, Nov. 13, 2006 at 11:18 a.m.
Dear TB,

Hi love. I just got done with my ecology midterm and I think I did pretty well on it. =) I'm a little scared of the final because it's cumulative.. so I'm going to have to scrape my last memory cells for that lost information. Which basically means, studying for the first and second midterm all over again. =/ Plus more info... meeeh. =( Oh well.. that's school for ya I guess! I cannot wait to be done..

Saturday I went to the LA Zoo with my mammalogy class and had the best time ever! We got to go behind the scenes on the sea lions, echidnas, chimps, sumatran tiger, sumatran rhino, giraffes and a bunch of other animals! I even got to pet a two and a half month old baby giraffe named Lewis! It was really amazing and I felt very lucky to be able to experience what I did that day. We also got to pet the echidna and the sumatran rhino. =) I got pictures of mostly everything... so I'll post them later on my vox and fotopages.. the only thing they didn't let us take pictures of was the sumatran tiger. It was ANGRY.... Before the keeper took us to the back, he kept saying... "if you have a weak heart, or get scared easily... you might want to stay out front." and in my head I was thinking... "yeah buddy, whatever. It's going to be in a cage! Why would I be scared?" .... moments later.. right when he opened the back door and we all walked in... the tiger was hissing and growling at us like no other. I mean, it was looking at us like we were the nastiest things it had ever seen. I was amazed by how loud it was inside, and his roar was deafening. He even started attacking the fence! I could not will my feet to move forward. The keeper told us that it's something that he never gets used to even though he sees them everyday. You know... after that experience, I learned that watching videos, seeing pictures, learning about animals in class... is something truly quite different from actually seeing the animal in it's real and actual form. Or even looking at them from afar... when you get close, it's totally different. Even when I was petting Lewis... it was quite amazing. I mean.. I always knew they would be soft and sweet looking... but to KNOW and to actually EXPERIENCE are two different things. I have to say that I was truly amazed by the animals at the zoo. It was a wonderful experience that I will never forget.

On Sunday I went to Westwood and studied with Suey at The Coffee Bean. We studied all dayyyyy... I took her grocery shopping and went to eat dinner with Rene at Noodle Planet. I ate the garlic chicken. =) I came home and mingled with The Pie.. hehe. He is so adorable all the time. Well, most of the time. =) His cuteness amazes me sometimes. I swear that he is the only thing that keeps me sane!! hehe. I went to bed pretty early and woke up at 4:30 in the am this morning to finish studying for ecology. Fun! =/ But it's over now, so no more studying for a little bit! =) I'm going to eat dinner later tonight after school and work with Rene and her co-workers @ Raffi's. Which I hear is a great Persian restaurant. I'm bringing a friend of mine whom I've actually never met before. That will be.. interesting?! It's primarily to give him these CDs that I burned for him. Gotta pass along the good music. =) I don't really think it's weird to make friends online and actually meet them. I would say that it might be a bit uncommon, but I'll bet as time goes on, it will become more frequent since this internet thing has bloomed and isn't ever retracting.

I was actually even interested in internet dating. Which, the idea was completely shot down by Darren. And actually, I think he was right.. that those people on the internet dating sites are actually kind of creepy. I dropped that idea completely after seeing that. But I still want to try speed dating! There's no obligations and all in good fun, so it seems harmless. Alex, Rene and I were talking about it too a few nights ago.. and I think we all came to the conclusion that it's still best to meet someone through friends or by chance.. I think we're all a bit weary of the internet dating idea now.

I'm meeting Mike for dinner on Wednesday. It's just to say hello and that we're okay with the turn of events. And that.. friendship is definitely possible. I told him that he could bring my back all my stuff now... that I was ready to have them back. Before, I didn't want them because I thought they would remind me too heavily of our past relationship. But I see things now for what they are. THE PAST. Done and gone, and we've already said our farewells to it. I'm bringing some other residual things he left behind also.

If someone were to ask me now, "what happened? what went wrong?" I would simply reply that we were mismatched. It's the best way to describe the situation. And it was true. We couldn't make each other completely happy. It's like we were puzzle pieces that almost fit together completely, but just didn't. It was a tight squeeze that seemed to go together well, but in actuality, we were just trying to squeeze together to force it to work, when it didn't. I was reading some of my old paper entries.. and even some entries here... and I realized how unhappy I was a lot of the times. How I always wanted more and was never satisfied. Sure, there were a lot of things that happened that might have changed the course of our relationship, but those things that have happened are done. And no matter what could have happened, things DID happen this way. And we face reality and the future, not wishful thinkings of our imagination and past. And? It's okay. I finally let things settle and be what they are. We're saying hello to our future friendship. =)

All right darling... I shall be off then to Ichthyology. Then work! Then dinner and a toast to new friendships all around.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007