Back From Mammoth
Friday, Dec. 29, 2006 at 7:16 p.m.
Dear TB,

Hi love!! I just got back from Mammoth a few hours ago. And guess what? A freaking miracle occurred. I FINALLY learned to turn and get on my toe side!! I was so astonished that I could actually get on my toes. You have no idea what an accomplishment it was for me. I remember trying to do it the last boarding season and ended up with bruised knees, elbows and agonizing pain in my wrists the next day. What do I owe this all to? An awesome girl by the name of Rene Chen! The most important things that I learned from Rene were:

1. Don't turn too fast. It's actually a very gradual adjustment when you are going somewhat slowly. When you turn too fast (when first learning), you tend to fall. I was doing this all last year!

2. When you are 90 degrees from the bottom of the mountain, put weight into your left foot (if you are regular) as you turn. Looking up towards the mountain helps too!

3. Don't dig your toes into the snow. It's as if you are tippy toeing in the snow, NOT trying to get onto your toes like a ballerina.

4. Don't prepare yourself for a fall. Rene told me that often I had my hands out in front of me, ready to fall before I even began falling. Or I was sticking my butt out, ready to fall. In other words, I was expecting to fall. In terms of your mentality, confidence, and even physique, it does effect your ability to turn!

And lastly... don't carry the discouraging mentality that you're never going to be able to do it... you can only learn how to do it if you keep on getting back up, no matter how many times you fall and eat shit.

Rene is such a good teacher when it comes to boarding. She's also extremely patient and encouraging when needed. I can see how those kinds of characteristics probably effect her positively as a physical therapist. I know she'll be a good one! I really thank her for teaching me to get on my toes!! Woohoo!! Now I don't have to be exhausted from heeling it all the way down the mountain. I think I just need more practice to get comfortable... and I think from now on, I can only get better. =) I'm so excited!!

Something Corporate
Globes & Maps

Light breaks underneath
A heavy door
And I try to keep myself awake
Fall all around us
On a hotel floor
And you think that you've made a mistake
And there's a pain in my stomach
From another sleepless binge
And I struggle to get myself up again
I wanna hang onto something
That won't break away or fall apart
Like the pieces of my heart

And globes and maps
Are all around me now
I wanna feel you breathe me
Globes and maps
I see surround you here
Why won't you believe me?
Globes and maps
They chartered your way back home
Do you want to leave or something?

Dreams came around you
In a hazy rain
You open your mouth wide
To feel them fall
And I write a letter
From a one-way train
But I don't think you'll read it at all

And globes and maps
Are all around me now
I want to feel you breathe me
And globes and maps
I see surround you here
Why won't you believe me?
Globes and maps
They charter your way back home
Do you want to leave or something?

I can't take this anymore
I know that I can't take this anymore
I can't take this anymore
Cause I know someday
I'll see you walk out that door

I love that song. =)

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007