Buckets
Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2007 at 2:59 p.m.
Dear TB,

Hi love. I'm at school right now... I'm on a long break so I've got some time to write more... more than what I've been writing anyway. Everything has been going well. School, family, friends and the significant other... everything has been great. Sometimes when I think about Michael and I... I'm amazed that this happened. I'm still glad for the things that we have gone through... the things I've learned, gained and lost. It's all been for the better. Sometimes I have doubts... but I think that everyone does. And I think those doubts are healthy. As long as nothing becomes an obsession, it's all in the norm.

I was thinking about something recently.. and it was when I was completely dumbfounded by what happened to Michael and I when we were supposed to be "just friends". Darren said that I like to put people in these buckets of categories and expect people to follow the rules of the bucket. And that is very true for me. If someone is my friend, regardless of gender, they are in the friend bucket. If someone is my boyfriend, then they are precisely that. If a relationship ends.... then the boyfriend goes into the ex-boyfriend bucket for a while. The period of time when I'm getting over them and I generally avoid all means of contact with them. Then, when I complete my task and know that I'm over them, they go into the friend bucket. And I expect people to follow the rules of the bucket. If we are friends, there should be no mental or physical problems being only friends. At least, that's what I like to believe. I learned that this is really not the way that life works. Especially not people. People don't always go into buckets... I may want to follow the rules of the bucket system, but that doesn't mean everybody else will. Which is fine I suppose.. I mean, I understand why things may happen out of the rules. I mean, that's why Michael and I are where we are today. Because he climbed out of the friendship bucket, unknowing to both of us, I might add. Well, at least consciously.

Rene and I want to go to Hawaii in the summer... =) I'm really excited for that. I can't wait for the summer weather in Hawaii.... I'm trying to use it as an incentive to loose weight. hehe. That is the goal... oy.

See you later TB...

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007