Vet School Apps
Friday, Oct. 05, 2007 at 10:59 a.m.
Dear TB,

Hi love. How's it going? I've been super busy these past few weeks with my vet school applications and taking the GRE. So I did end up retaking the GRE and got around the same total score. I did improve on my quantitative, which was my goal, but my verbal score was lower.... [sigh]! Some schools look at the best of your sections from the GRE... so hopefully that will have an effect. =/ It was a little frustrating for me to study for the GRE a second time because I felt that I wasn't really improving while I was studying. I did practice my quantitative a lot more, and it did help a little, but it didn't greatly increase my score... The GRE does test what you know... but I think it also tests how you think and how you approach those problems... and it's difficult to change your way of thinking... so that's why people's scores really don't drastically change that much when they retake it. Unless they seriously put some hard work into changing their way of thinking. I'm sure that some people are also able to do that without much work either... so it really just depends also. I did really study a lot for my second GRE test... but maybe time was a factor. I had about a month in between my two GRE tests. It might have also helped if I had taken a GRE class. If I don't get into vet school this year, that's what I'm going to do for next years applications. But I really hope I get in for the 2008 class!!

Basically I've been working full-time at VCA since I'm no longer in school. I kind of miss school. It's weird. Since I never took any breaks in my education, I feel like I should be in school. That's one of the reasons I want to go to vet school for the 2008 class because I don't want to have a big long gap in my education. Working full-time has been fun and stressful at the same time. I definitely like my job more than any other job I've had and there's certainly more responsibility at hand. I've learned so much and everyone I work with is pretty cool. =)

So now I need to finish up Michigan's supplemental app that is due October 10th, and also do Western's and Iowa's by October 15th. That's probably what I'm going to be working on all day on Sunday and after work next week. Saturday is my birthday and I'm going to watch Cirque de Soleil with Mike in LA. I'll let you know how everything goes! I really really really hope I get into vet school somewhere... anywhere! ahh!

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007